ABC drama series The Newsreader wins five AACTA Awards

February 11 2024

The dream run for ABC and Werner Productions smash hit The Newsreader continued at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) awards last night on the Gold Coast.

The ABC won 11 AACTAs overall with The Newsreader reaffirming its position as Australian television’s standout drama winning five awards.

Depicting an Australian TV newsroom from the 1980s, The Newsreader was named best drama series for the second year and has now claimed 11 AACTA awards across its first two seasons.

In the best children’s program category where the ABC swept the nominations, global phenomenon Bluey won from fellow nominees Beep and Mort, Turn Up the Volume, Crazy Fun Park and The PM’s Daughter. It was Bluey’s fifth AACTA award in five years for Best Children’s Program.

Heart-warming ABC series Old People’s Home for Teenagers took out the best factual entertainment program, the wildly popular Tom Gleeson and the team behind Hard Quiz won best comedy entertainment program while Gardening Australia was named best lifestyle program. The Dark Emu Story’s Caitlin Yeo and Damien Lane won the AACTA for best original score in a documentary while Ivan Sen’s Limbo was crowned Indie film of the year.

ABC Chief Content Officer Chris Oliver-Taylor paid tribute to the ABC’s AACTA award winners: “Congratulations to all the AACTA award-winning ABC programs. I’m so incredibly proud of the depth of talent across the entire slate that saw an astonishing 60 nominations, showcased with wins across Drama, Factual, Entertainment and Children’s content.

“The ABC is immensely proud of the success of home-grown Gardening Australia, produced by the brilliant team inside the ABC and we’re delighted to partner with so many independent production companies to bring such amazing stories to all Australians.”

“In front of some of the screen’s biggest names, The Newsreader and Amazon Prime Video’s Deadloch dominated the television category.

The Newsreader’s Anna Torv was named best lead actress in a drama and Emma Freeman took out the award for best direction in drama or comedy. Hunter Page-Lochard won the AACTA for best supporting actor in a drama while Zed Dragojlovich for best costume design.

“The Newsreader has been an incredible success,” Oliver-Taylor continued. “We are thrilled for Joanna Werner, Michael Lucas and everyone at Werner Film Productions, we can’t wait to bring you season 3 later this year.”

The ABC received more nominations than any network or streamer at the AACTA awards that highlight and celebrate screen excellence in Australia.